Future Mobility Award

The Future Mobility Award recognizes start-ups who contribute to sustainable mobility in public transportation. Initiated by the trade magazine Nahverkehrs-praxis together with Messe Karlsruhe and aen – automotive. engineering. network, innovative start-ups around the world can submit their ideas and projects on sustainable public transportation.

The application period has been completed and the winner was announced in mid-May 2020.

"We started the Future Mobility Award in order to support thriving start-ups who contribute to growth in sustainable public transportation with their ideas," says Annika Egloff-Schoenen, Head of Digital Media & Events of the magazine Nahverkehrs-praxis. The aim is to create a platform where starts-ups can present themselves and make their ideas visible for the public transport sector. The competition will take place during the IT-TRANS every two years.

Jury of experts

The submitted projects were evaluated by a jury of experts with an entrepreneurial and scientific background.

The jury consisted of:

  • Sebastian Böhmer (Founding Partner, First Momentum Ventures)
  • Ascan Egerer (Technical Director, Verkehrsbetriebe Karlsruhe)
  • Annika Egloff-Schoenen (Head of Digital Media & Events, Nahverkehrs-praxis)
  • Jochen Georg (Project Manager, Messe Karlsruhe)
  • Michael Kaiser (Director, Economic Development Department of the City Karlsruhe)
  • Ursula Kloé (Managing Partner, JU-KNOW)
  • Sieglinde Walz (Manager, automotive. engineering. network)


The winner received conference passes to IT-TRANS 2020, a trophy, prize money of 5.000 €, a professional coaching program, an investor-startup meeting and a trophy.
"Society benefits from the development in public transportation. Especially in times like these, when climate change is an issue, we need innovative ideas on how to address upcoming questions. This is precisely our main concern, to ensure that these ideas get the attention that they deserve," adds Annika Egloff-Schoenen, Head of Digital Media & Events of the magazine Nahverkehrs-praxis.

Future Mobility Award Key Dates

Award ceremony: Due to the current Covid 19 situation, the award ceremony was held on 19 May 2020 via video conference from Karlsruhe.

The jury selected 5 start-ups from all applicants who reached the final round.

Here are the finalists:

  • BeeSonix UG
  • Match Rider UG
  • Operibus Sp. Z. o.o.
  • Rydies Ltd.
  • TWAICE Technologies GmbH

Further information: https://www.nahverkehrspraxis.de/future-mobility-award/

And the winner is

The young startup BeeSonix UG convinced the jury experts and was honored with the Future Mobility Award 2020.

TODO: alt-text

Do you have any additional questions? Please contact Mrs. Annika Egloff-Schoenen, redaktion@nahverkehrspraxis.de , T: +49 (0) 231 336943